ⓘ Blog | Lists of judges - judiciaries ..

Federal Court of India

The Federal Court of India was a judicial body, established in India in 1937 under the provisions of the Government of India Act 1935, with original, appellate and advisory jurisdiction. It functioned until the Supreme Court of India was established in 1950. Although the seat of the Federal Court was at Delhi, however, a separate Federal Court for Pakistan was established in Pakistan in Karachi after the Partition of India. There was a right of appeal to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in London from the Federal Court of India. The Federal Court had exclusive original jurisdiction in any dispute between the Central Government and the Provinces. Initially, it was empowered to hear appeals from the High Courts of the provinces in the cases which involved the interpretation of any Section of the Government of India Act, 1935. From 5 January 1948 it was also empowered to hear appeals in those cases, which did not involve any interpretation of the Government of India Act, 1935.

Judges of the African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights

The first Judges of the African Court on Human and Peoples Rights were elected on January 22, 2006 at the Eighth Ordinary Session of the Executive Council of the African Union, held in Khartoum, Sudan. The judges, hailing from 11 of the 53 member states of the African Union, are from varying backgrounds of judicial experience and knowledge of international and human rights law. Each judge serves for a six-year term, and can be re-elected once. The President and Vice-President are elected to two-year terms and can only be re-elected once. Jean Mutsinzi Bernard Ngoepe Kellelo Justina Mafoso-Guni Sophia A.B. Akuffo Dr. Gerard Niyungeko President Dr. Fatsah Ouguergouz Modibo Tounty Guindo Vice-President George W. Kanyeihamba Hamdi Faraj Fanoush Jean Emile Somda El Hadj Guisse

List of Belgian judges

2015-2016: Johan Delmulle, Brussels 2016-2017: Ignacio de la Serna, Mons 2017-2018: Patrick Vandenbruane, Antwerp

Supreme Court of Judicature at Fort William

The Supreme Court of Judicature at Fort William, Calcutta was founded in 1774 by the Regulating Act of 1773. It replaced the Mayors Court of Calcutta and was British Indias highest court from 1774 until 1862, when the High Court of Calcutta was established by the Indian High Courts Act 1861. From 1774 to the arrival of Parliaments Bengal Judicature Act of 1781 in June 1782, the Court claimed jurisdiction over any person residing in Bengal, Bihar or Orissa. These first years were known for their conflict with the Supreme Council of Bengal over the Courts jurisdiction. The conflict came to an end with Parliaments passing of the Bengal Judicature Act of 1781 which restricted the Supreme Courts jurisdiction to either those who lived in Calcutta, or to any British Subject in Bengal, Bihar and Odisha, thereby removing the Courts jurisdiction over any person residing in Bengal, Bihar and Odisha. The courthouse itself was a two storied building with Ionic columns and an urn-topped balustrade and stood by the side of the Writers’ Buildings. The building also served as the Town Hall of Calcutta at one time. It was demolished in 1792 and replaced by the present building in 1832. The Courts first judges were: Stephen Caesar Le Maistre, Puisne judge from 1774 to 1777 on his death. Sir William Dunkin, Puisne judge from August 14, 1791 to unknown. Robert Chambers, Puisne judge from 1774 to 1783, Acting Chief Justice from 1783 to 1791. Chief Justice from 1791-1798, on his resignation. Sir Elijah Impey, Chief justice from 1774 to 1783 on his recall to England for impeachment. Sir William Jones, Puisne judge from 1783 to 1794 on his death. John Hyde judge, Puisne judge from 1774 to 1796 on his death.

Chief Judge of Rivers State

The Chief Judge of Rivers State, also known as the Chief Judge of the High Court of Justice, is the title and office of the head of the judicial branch of Rivers State. The Chief Judge presides over the states High Court, and is usually the most senior judge of that court. As of 2016, Adama Lamikanra is currently the acting Chief Judge of Rivers State. She is preceded by Daisy W. Okocha, the first woman to ever serve in that office.

Chief Justice of Sudan

The Chief Justice of Sudan is the head of the Judiciary of Sudan. Under Article 29. of the August 2019 Draft Constitutional Declaration, the Chief Justice is also the President of the Supreme Court of Sudan and is "responsible for administering the judicial authority before the Supreme Judicial Council." Nemat Abdullah Khair, the current Chief Justice, was claimed by Sudan Daily and Khartoum Star as being appointed as the first female Chief Justice of Sudan in late August 2019. On 12 September 2019, two thousand protestors called for Abdelgadir Mohamed Ahmed to be appointed Chief Justice instead. Khair was formally appointed as Chief Justice of Sudan by decree on 10 October 2019.